Vish Ponnathpore PE, LEED AP

Principal, Director Mazzetti India


MEP Engineering

I have over 30 years of experience in engineering and construction, 23 years, of which, were spent working for a consulting firm in the San Francisco Bay Area as Managing Principal and Director of the Electrical Engineering practice. I have designed and managed technically complex projects. Outside the U.S., I have worked on projects for Chartered Semiconductor and HP in Singapore, eBay in China, and for Paypal in India.  I have managed client relationships and provided ongoing support to help clients with technical as well as investment decisions on infrastructure upgrades. My experience also includes developing strategies and marketing for new consulting businesses.

“I enjoy finding solutions that are technically appropriate and cost effective. Every job is different and needs to be treated as such. This allows me to not assume anything and ask the right questions before jumping into drawing lines on paper.”

The highest value I bring to clients is my big picture approach to a given task and my commitment to a schedule. My experience includes biopharma, semiconductor manufacturing, central plants, data centers, and healthcare. While I was working at Avantek, I participated on a team that published an article in the Avantek journal on safety grounding for high frequency current from RF Generators. I also participated with other GreenGrid members in the publishing of a white paper on improving data center efficiency, looking at various power supply schemes including high voltage DC.

I am a senior member of IEEE and a former member of the Advisory Committee for the Bay Area Industrial Applications Society. I was involved in charitable work through IEEE and distributed books to school children in the Bay Area. In India, I collaborate with organizations to help raise funds for school supplies for schools in rural areas.

I like architecture and art.I think the presentation of a design is as important as the design itself. I try to use my artistic sense to present drawings in the most aesthetically pleasing, non-cluttered way.


My Flipside

In my spare time I like to listen to music, read, and watch movies. I read mainly non-fiction books including biographies, historical events, and discussions on current issues. I love tennis and play few times a week. I also like motorcycling, but I don’t own one now.

My home town? That’s a bit difficult one to answer. I was born in India and got my undergrad degree in India, but I have lived in the U.S. for over 30 years which is pretty much all my professional life. Though I am equally at-home in both the countries, I have to say my home town is Milpitas, CA.

If there is one thing I would like to change, it would be to make people focus more on issues that threaten our wellbeing and the future of this world and less on our differences. If we can find a way for all of us to work together and accept our differences, it may help channelize our resources in a direction that benefits all.

Imagine a world where everyone looked the same & spoke the same language; such a world would be a very boring place, in my opinion. It’s like a forest with only one species of tree and nothing else! To me, our cultural differences, our different languages, food habits, religious practices, and so on are what make this world so interesting.

I prefer vegetarian food and also organic food. I firmly believe in sustainable farming for long term success to food production and our ecology. We have a solar water heater at home & rarely use gas to generate our hot water needs.